Saturday, July 11, 2009

Sunday Night At The Market IV - Those Sweet, Slow Dog Days of Summer...

I love mid-summer with its long warm days, and feeling of time to spare (at least it 'feels' like there's time to spare!). I thought I'd check and see how these days got their name. From Wikipedia: The Dog Days originally were the days when Sirius, the Dog Star, rose just before or at the same time as sunrise (heliacal rising), which is no longer true, owing to precession of the equinoxes. The ancients sacrificed a brown dog at the beginning of the Dog Days to appease the rage of Sirius, believing that the star was the cause of the hot, sultry weather.

And even worse, Brady’s Clavis Calendarium, 1813 described them as: an evil time "when the seas boiled, wine turned sour, dogs grew mad, and all creatures became languid, causing to man burning fevers, hysterics, and phrensies"

Holy cow - luckily we now have air conditioning and time for Sunday afternoon naps and no need for sacrificing a poor little brown doggie!!

So, how do YOU spend those 'Dog Days' of mid-Summer? For me, it's a time to pause and reflect before the rush of energy that accompanies the crisp coolness of Fall and the busy holiday season that follows on its heels.

This little summer pause always gets the creative juices flowing for me - how about you? Any new pieces to share, or plans for new fall inventory? New ideas for getting a jump start for getting ready for the busy season? Thinking up some new advertising ideas? Maybe a little shopping spree? Join the artists of the Wearable Art Market tomorrow night for our Sunday Night at the Market get-together. The party starts in this forum thread:

http://www.1000markets.com/forums/23/topics/5677


Come and share your 'Dog Days' with us, starting at 7PM Eastern, 6PM Central, 5PM Mountain, 4PM Pacific. See you there!

Photo Credit:
© Gianna Stadelmyer | Dreamstime.com

1 comment:

  1. Really your blog articles is awesome.by the way If you have ever wondered what gym supplements you should try for your fat loss goals then come with us.for more information clikc here: http://gymsupplements.in/

    ReplyDelete